Four universities of Eucor participate in the new network EPICUR

carte européenne

In the “European Partnership for an Innovative Campus Unifying Regions” (EPICUR) the Universities of Strasbourg, Freiburg and Haute-Alsace as well as the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology are collaborating with the University of Amsterdam, Netherlands, the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland, the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences in Vienna, Austria and the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece. Under the lead of the University of Strasbourg, the partners have submitted their joint application in the European Universities Initiative to the European Commission.

EPICUR focuses on the field of university teaching and places liberal arts and sciences education, the digital transformation of teaching forms as well as the expansion of mobility for students at the heart of its collaboration. In addition, the European languages and the various networks in which the universities are embedded form the focal points of the collaboration.

The European Universities Initiative is a funding instrument of the European Commission that focuses on teaching. It is part of the new Erasmus+ program from the Directorate-General for Education and Culture. Four of EPICUR’s participating partners are member universities of Eucor – The European Campus. Its fifth member, the University of Basel, is not eligible to apply in the European Universities Initiative, as Switzerland is not an Erasmus+ program country.

The regional model of the trinational university network Eucor – The European Campus will remain unchanged and will be further developed on a continuous basis. With its jointly agreed strategic plan for the next five years, its own European legal personality in the form of a European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) and binding governance, the European Campus is a pioneer in regional cross-border university cooperation. The cooperation of the network, which includes the Universities of Basel, Freiburg, Haute-Alsace, Strasbourg and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, covers the entire knowledge triangle of teaching, research and innovation at the universities. The European Campus places particular emphasis on the areas of “Quantum Sciences and Technologies,” “Precision Medicine / Personalised Health,” “Sustainability” and “European Identities.”

Further information on the website of EPICUR.

Back to the news overview