After a two-year hiatus, the Tour Eucor finally took place again from June 7 to 11, 2022. Matthias Mair, who studies Chemical Engineering at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), was one of the lucky cyclists to get one of the sought-after places in the tour. He talks about his personal experience and impressions from this year’s tour with us.

What is the Tour Eucor?

The Tour Eucor is a five-day bicycle ride to all five universities in the Eucor alliance. The tour is organized by an association made up of students and alumni of the Eucor universities. After a forced break due to the pandemic, the Tour Eucor could take place again this year with 130 participants.

Who can ride in the Tour Eucor?

Students, staff, and alumni of the five universities can apply to participate in the tour. This ensures that there is an interesting mix of participants, which always results in good conversations. On the second day, I was able to talk to a professor from Strasbourg for a long time, and he told me about his research in materials science. I also found conversations with alumni very interesting because they could tell me about their professional experience, which is already relevant for me during my master’s degree. So the Tour Eucor is not just worthwhile for the biking!

What motivated you to take part in the Tour Eucor?

First of all, I like to ride my racing bike, and I’m convinced that the Upper Rhine region has some of the best biking routes. Second, I believe that international contacts and conversations are very important. The Tour Eucor offers the opportunity to practice the European ideal and get in touch with young people from all three countries. Many of the participants speak German, French, and English, and people switch between languages the entire week. In case you don’t speak another person’s language, there’s always someone around to translate, and you can even learn some new words in the process. I have a lot of catching up to do with the Swiss German dialect, I realized.

What was a highlight for you?

The organization team! It was incredible how much effort and passion they invest in the Tour Eucor. The organization team not only plans all the stages and arranges the accommodation, the evening program, and much more; there is also a large team of helpers who supply the participants with food and drinks along the route and transport the luggage from A to B. I am very thankful to them. Without them, the tour would not be possible. The participants were also very dedicated. One student from Basel offered to guide us through the city in the evening after arriving there.

What was the most beautiful stage?

I liked the fourth stage, from Basel to Freiburg, the best. The quiet roads in the southern Black Forest were simply wonderful. All the other stages were also beautiful, but during the first three days, the weather was still a little rainy, meaning it was harder to enjoy the landscape. I hope I can participate again next year and see the Vosges and the Swiss Jura in the sunshine.

What is the biggest difference between the three countries?

First of all, I want to stress that some differences are hardly noticeable. For example, I didn’t notice we were in another country until a few kilometers after crossing the Swiss border, because there wasn’t a large customs building along the bike path, of course. Something that I really like about France was that many people cheered us on and motivated us from the side of the road or from their car. I think Germans could learn a thing or two from them.

Do the participants of the Tour take advantage of the mobility offered by Eucor?

Some participants have already attended courses at other Eucor universities or know people who have used this mobility. One alumnus from Karlsruhe, for example, told me that he attended a weekend seminar in Strasbourg through Eucor. The seminar was about how to apply for jobs and what you should pay attention to in the different countries. For other participants, the Tour was the first encounter with Eucor, and perhaps it will inspire them to take advantage of the mobility it offers in the future. After meeting so many nice people, I’m also motivated to use Eucor’s mobility, and I’m currently looking through the course catalogue of the University of Strasbourg. It’s easily accessible from Karlsruhe, and I really like the city.

In conclusion, the tour in numbers:

In five days, my group covered 820 kilometers and climbed about 11,000 meters in three countries. That means I spent roughly 30 hours on my bike, during which I drank about 28 liters of water and ate more than 30 cereal bars. I won’t be having any of those for a while … 😀

Après deux ans de pause, le Tour Eucor a enfin pu sillonner de nouveau le Rhin supérieur du 7 au 11 juin 2022. Matthias Mair, qui étudie l’ingénierie chimique au Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), fait partie des heureux élus ayant obtenu l’une des places tant convoitées pour y participer. Il nous fait part ici de ses expériences et ses impressions sur le Tour de cette année.

Le Tour Eucor, c’est quoi ?

Le Tour Eucor est un tour cycliste de cinq jours qui passe par les campus de toutes les universités membres du groupement Eucor. Il est organisé par une association composée d’étudiants et d’anciens étudiants des de ces universités. Après la pause forcée due à la pandémie, le Tour Eucor a pu avoir lieu cette année avec 130 participants.

Qui peut participer au Tour Eucor ?

Les étudiants, employés et anciens étudiants des cinq universités peuvent s’inscrire pour avoir une place. Cela assure un mélange intéressant de participants et donne toujours lieu à des discussions intéressantes. Le deuxième jour, j’ai pu m’entretenir longuement avec un professeur de Strasbourg, qui m’a parlé de ses recherches dans le domaine de la science des matériaux. Les discussions avec les anciens étudiants ont également été intéressantes pour moi, car ils pouvaient me parler de leurs expériences professionnelles, qui sont déjà très pertinentes pour moi en master. Le Tour Eucor vaut donc aussi la peine en marge du vélo !

Qu’est-ce qui t’a motivé à participer au Tour Eucor ?

Premièrement, j’aime rouler sur mon vélo de course et je trouve que la région du Rhin supérieur offre quelques-uns des meilleurs itinéraires cyclables. Deuxièmement, les échanges internationaux sont très importants pour moi. Le Tour Eucor offre la possibilité de vivre l’idée européenne et d’entrer en contact avec des jeunes de la région des trois pays. Beaucoup de participants parlent allemand, français et anglais et on passe d’une langue à l’autre tout au long de la semaine. Et si on ne parle pas la langue de l’autre, il y a toujours quelqu’un pour traduire et c’est l’occasion d’apprendre en passant quelques nouveaux mots de vocabulaire. En ce qui me concerne, il y a juste des progrès à faire pour le suisse allemand.

Qu’est-ce qui t’a le plus marqué ?

L’équipe organisatrice ! Je trouve l’effort et la passion investis dans le Tour Eucor incroyables. D’une part, l’équipe organisatrice planifie tous les itinéraires, organise l’hébergement, le programme des soirées et bien d’autres choses encore. D’autre part, il y a une grosse équipe d’accompagnement qui fournit nourriture et boisson aux participants tout au long des étapes et qui transporte les bagages de bout en bout. J’en suis très reconnaissant, sans eux, le tour n’aurait pas été possible. Les participants aussi étaient très engagés, un étudiant de Bâle a par exemple proposé une visite guidée de la ville comme programme de soirée après l’arrivée.

Quelle a été la plus belle étape ?

Ce que j’ai préféré, c’est la quatrième étape, de Bâle à Freiburg. Les routes tranquilles du sud de la Forêt-Noire sont tout simplement magnifiques. Toutes les autres étapes étaient également très belles, mais les trois premiers jours, le temps était encore un peu pluvieux, ce qui permettait moins de profiter du paysage. J’espère être là de nouveau l’année prochaine pour voir aussi les Vosges et le Jura suisse sous le soleil.

Quelle était la plus grosse différence entre les trois pays ?

Tout d’abord, je tiens à souligner que certaines différences ne se remarquent même pas. Par exemple, ce n’est que quelques kilomètres après la frontière suisse que j’ai remarqué que nous étions dans un autre pays, car il n’y avait évidemment pas de poste de douane sur la piste cyclable. Une chose m’a positivement frappé en France : de nombreuses personnes nous ont encouragés et motivés depuis le bord de la route ou les voitures. Les Allemands pourraient volontiers en prendre de la graine.

Les participants du Tour font-ils usage de la mobilité Eucor ?

Certains participants ont déjà suivi des cours dans d’autres universités Eucor ou connaissent des personnes qui ont utilisé cette opportunité de mobilité. Un ancien étudiant de Karlsruhe m’a par exemple parlé d’un séminaire d’un week-end à Strasbourg, auquel il a participé dans le cadre d’Eucor. Il y était question de la façon de se porter candidat à un poste et de ce à quoi il faut faire attention dans les différents pays. Pour d’autres participants, le Tour a constitué le premier point de contact avec Eucor et peut-être le déclic pour une future mobilité. Après ces superbes rencontres, je suis maintenant aussi motivé pour tirer profit de la mobilité Eucor et je suis en train de parcourir le catalogue de cours de l’université de Strasbourg, celle-ci étant facilement accessible depuis Karlsruhe et la ville m’ayant beaucoup plu.

Pour finir, quelques chiffres :

En cinq jours, nous avons parcouru dans mon groupe 820 kilomètres pour 11 000 mètres de dénivelé dans trois pays. Cela représente 30 heures sur le vélo, pendant lesquelles j’ai bu environ 28 litres d’eau et mangé plus de 30 barres de céréales. Celles-là, j’en ai assez pour le moment… 😀