The EURIdoc logo

EURIdoc is a new interdisciplinary doctoral programme in the Upper Rhine region in the field of immunology. It includes 28 doctoral positions for young scientists from all over the world. The programme is run and coordinated by Eucor – The European Campus.

The doctoral research is carried out at the EURIdoc partner institutions:

Scientific orientation

The scientific orientation of EURIdoc is based on the immunological foci that exist in Basel, Freiburg, Karlsruhe and Strasbourg. The core topics of EURIdoc are haematopoiesis and development of the immune system, innate and adaptive immunity as well as immune-related diseases. The emphasis is on both basic research and work on applications. In the long term, these may lead to new drugs, vaccines or therapies, for example for cancer, viral or autoimmune diseases. The project also focuses on the most urgent immunological problem of our time, SARS-CoV-2, and plans to develop new therapies for Covid-19.

Interdisciplinary and intersectoral training

Beyond the university sector, the doctoral candidates will also work with four clinics and ten industrial partners. They will have the opportunity to spend research periods in leading pharmaceutical companies as well as in small and medium-sized companies.

The project strengthens the strategic thematic focus “Personalised Health – Precision Medicine” of the trinational alliance. EURIdoc is based on the existing close cooperation between the participating immunologists from Basel, Freiburg and Strasbourg. Since 2017, they have been networked as the Upper Rhine Immunology Group (URI group) and organise annual clinical workshops and scientific meetings. In addition to a Seed Money project aiming at cross-border connection among master’s programmes, EURIdoc now forms another building block of cooperation and education in immunology in the Upper Rhine region.

Funding

Within the framework of the COFUND programme of the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (Horizon 2020), EURIdoc has been selected by the European Commission as an innovative international and interdisciplinary doctoral programme to receive funding of 3 million euros. Together with the co-financing of the participating partner organisations, the programme has a total of 6.8 million euros at its disposal over a period of five years.

Le logo EURIdoc

EURIdoc est un nouveau programme doctoral interdisciplinaire dans le domaine de l’immunologie, basé dans la région du Rhin Supérieur. 28 postes sont à pourvoir pour de jeunes scientifiques issus du monde entier dans le cadre de ce programme mis en place et coordonné par Eucor – Le Campus européen.

Les postes sont proposés dans les institutions suivantes :

Orientation scientifique

L’orientation scientifique d’EURIdoc se base sur les principaux domaines en matière d’immunologie qui sont étudiés à Bâle, Fribourg-en-Brisgau, Karlsruhe et Strasbourg. Les thèmes centraux d’EURIdoc sont l’hématopoïèse, le développement du système immunitaire, l’immunité innée et adaptative ainsi que les maladies immunitaires. L’accent est mis à la fois sur la recherche fondamentale et sur les applications. À long terme, cela pourrait déboucher sur de nouveaux médicaments, vaccins ou thérapies, par exemple contre le cancer, les maladies virales ou auto-immunes. Le projet porte également sur le problème immunologique le plus urgent de notre époque, le SARS-CoV-2, et prévoit, entre autres, de développer de nouvelles thérapies pour le Covid-19.

Formation interdisciplinaire et intersectorielle

Au-delà du secteur universitaire, les doctorants vont également travailler en coopération avec quatre hôpitaux et dix partenaires industriels. Ils auront la possibilité d’effectuer des séjours de recherche dans des entreprises pharmaceutiques de premier plan aussi bien que dans des petites et moyennes entreprises.

Le projet renforce l’axe stratégique « médecine personnalisée – médecine de précision » du groupement trinational. EURIdoc a ses racines dans l’étroite collaboration existante entre les immunologistes de Bâle, Fribourg-en-Brisgau et Strasbourg. Depuis 2017, ils se sont mis en réseau sous la bannière de l’Upper Rhine Immunology group (URI group) et organisent chaque année des ateliers cliniques et des conférences scientifiques. En plus d’un projet Seed Money visant à relier par-delà les frontières les programmes de master, EURIdoc constitue désormais une autre brique de la collaboration et de la formation en immunologie dans le Rhin Supérieur.

Financement

Dans le cadre du programme COFUND des actions Marie Skłodowska-Curie (Horizon 2020), EURIdoc a été sélectionné par la Commission européenne en tant que programme doctoral interdisciplinaire et international afin de bénéficier d’une subvention de 3 millions d’euros. Avec le cofinancement des organisations partenaires impliquées, un total de 6,8 millions d’euros est disponible pour le programme sur une période de cinq ans.